Empowering government to build better resident and employee experiences and get more value out of their civic engagement technology.

Learn More
Back To News and Press

Granicus Recognizes 16 Government Organizations for Excellence in Digital Transformation

The Granicus 2019 Digital Government Awards honor transformational digital achievements improving government efficiency, effectiveness, engagement, and service delivery

WASHINGTON, D.C.– Granicus, the leading provider of cloud-based software solutions and digital engagement services for the public sector, today announced the recipients of the 2019 Granicus Digital Government Awards. The winners implemented transformational digital initiatives that demonstrate excellence in online service delivery, citizen experience, process efficiency, and program-driven outcomes.

“By embracing and harnessing the power of modern, digital technologies, government leaders are reimagining what’s possible as they build strong communities, strengthen connections with citizens, and drive life-changing outcomes for the people they serve,” said Mark Hynes, CEO of Granicus. “The Granicus Digital Government Awards provide a showcase for this important work and honor those that made these achievements a reality.”

2019 Digital Government Award Winners

Granicus recognizes leaders in six award categories: Tech Trailblazer Award, Citizen Service Award, Digital Efficiency Award, The Difference Maker Award, Innovator of the Year Award (Individual), and the Modern Website Award. Each category includes winners from federal, state, and local government agencies. Any government organization was eligible to participate.

Tech Trailblazer Award 

The Tech Trailblazer Award is Granicus’ highest honor for leaders in public sector digital transformation. This award, recognizing digital transformation excellence, identifies initiatives that have delivered a profound improvement in government activities, processes, and/or competencies by transitioning from outdated tech or in-person interactions to modern digital technologies. 


Citizen Service Award 

This award recognizes organizations that have leveraged digital technologies to improve a public service capability and enhance the citizen experience. 

Digital Efficiency Award

This award is for organizations that serve as models in government efficiency — from reducing paper use to streamlining labor-intensive processes.

The Difference Maker Award 

Whether saving lives or feeding the hungry, this award recognizes organizations improving citizen  engagement and impact through a unique campaign purpose, effective content, and exceptional outreach methods.

Innovator of the Year Award 

This Innovator of the Year Award, the only digital government award presented to an individual, recognizes an enthusiastic government leader who delivers results by solving problems in unique ways.

Modern Website Award 

This award goes to organizations that used a data-driven approach to strengthen the relationship between government and citizens through a modern, mobile-friendly website.

About Granicus

Granicus connects governments with the people they serve by providing the first and only civic engagement platform for the public sector. Nearly 4,500 federal, state and local government agencies and more than 200 million citizen subscribers power an unmatched Subscriber Network that turns government missions into quantifiable results. With comprehensive cloud-based solutions for communications, government website design, meeting and agenda management, records management, and digital services, Granicus empowers stronger relationships between government and citizens. 

Media Contact:
Madeline O’Phelan